The Pool

I dip myself in slowly, secretly happy that today the pool is mine. There is not a single person in sight. It is a Monday afternoon. I should be in the office like everyone else, but today is a luxury.

As I submerge myself in the water, I let the cold take my breath away. It’s rejuvenating. And the exposure, freeing.

Dark clouds threaten to hide the sun, but eventually the sun succeeds. It proudly displays its power, strong and relentless. The air is still. The heat trapped in the atmosphere.

My shadow on the bottom of the pool follows me as I glide through the water with each stroke. I set out to swim ten laps. One, two, three, four, and then I lose count. I focus on the pleasure of how light my body feels, the adrenaline running through my veins, and the cool sensation of the water on my sunkissed skin.

A squirrel watches me from a tree.

For a city like Singapore that is tropical all year round, people avoid the heat in air conditioned rooms. I welcome it. Once in a while, it is good to be reminded that we are part of the earth and it is part of us. To step out and see the world in its natural state, to connect with the earth and everything around it, everything that lives and breathes.

I look up at the empty houses and wonder where all the people have gone, what each one of them are doing at this very moment and I think to myself. Why settle for the pool, when the ocean is yours?

Leave a Reply

