Oh the places we will go!

The day finally came when we arrived in Paris. The city of love. I could barely believe how lucky I was to be on a student exchange programme in Paris for six months! Two years of intensive, mind-boggling french lessons? It was all worth it.

We lugged our oversized suitcases out of the metro station. The air smelt different. It was chilly, and exciting. Autumn had just arrived. “Which way do we go?” I asked my friends. We were anxious to get to our apartment.

“I think we should go this way,” one of my friends said, and we followed. I walked quickly trying to keep up, as the wheels of my luggage grinded noisily along the uneven pavement.

We were in the fifth arrondissement, a lovely quartier which was just a ten minute walk to the Notre Dame. As we passed by little cafes, I imagined spending my afternoons sitting outside, watching people walk by, as I indulge in a cup of hot chocolate, accompanied by a good book. I was also looking forward to walks along the Seine, picnics in the jardins, and meeting some new friends perhaps? We had planned to take a trip out to Barcelona that weekend. School was unavoidable of course, but touring Europe was definitely on our list.

Three asian students in a country so foreign, with a language we could barely speak or understand. Were we ready? I don’t know. But our adventure had just begun.

 

DAY 8 – DAILY PROMPT: 

Create an adventure. If you live in or around a city, write about your life if you were to move to the remote country. If you live in a rural area, write about your life the first day moving to the big city. The world is a big place, both extremes deserve illumination.

Leave a Reply

