Lingers

I take my first step
slowly-
in nervous excitement
Where will I go?
Who will I meet?
Endless possibilities.

No expectations
I have done this before
But nothing
will prepare me
for the roller coaster ride
of emotions ahead.

I am consumed
by your words
It fills my soul
with a deep longing
of a place
I could not see,
a hero
I could never become.

No!
Don’t let this end!
Don’t leave me here
in this timeless reverie.

Don’t you know?
A part of me
lingers
in your pages,
and
never
quite
leaves.

One thought on “Lingers

Leave a Reply

