Letter to my Muse

Dearest Muse,

I think we should get to know each other a little better. Maybe we have been apart for too long. I admit, it was my fault. I neglected you for other things, things like school, and work, things that shouldn’t come in the way of us.

You would be happy to know that I’ve started to write everyday now. I really like spending time with you. You have such wonderful ideas! Fascinating. I love the way you bring the words right out of my heart, like you understand my feelings even better than myself. You really do bring out a different side of me, a side which I was afraid to explore before.

But you are so confusing sometimes! I never know when you are around. I never know where to look for you. Yesterday, I was sitting at my computer, ready to craft an excellent piece of poetry, like we did the day before. I waited for you for hours, but you didn’t turn up! Where were you? If you thought it was funny to play hide-and-seek, it isn’t. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not angry. I just think we need to understand each other better. I’m sure we can work things out.

However, I need to confess, there is someone else… She resides in my mind too, and is constantly telling me to give up on you because I’m not good enough, because of what people will think. I’m trying my best not to believe her, but you’ve got to help me. Please don’t let her come between us. If you get the chance, kick her out for me, please?

You know Muse, after all that we’ve been through, I think we make a good pair, and perhaps together we can do great things. I am excited to spend more late nights with you, in the comfort of my room, sipping coffee as we create incredible works of art, together. You should know that you are always welcomed. I promise I will let you sit on your favourite bean bag.

Sincerely,
Me

DAY 17 – DAILY PROMPT:

Write a comedic letter of complaint to the Muse (or the High Council of Muses). In this letter, list all your annoyances about your writing process. Request the help you think the Muse Committee owes you with the process.

Leave a Reply

