Chasing Rainbows

Before I knew you, I was chasing rainbows. I could not tell you how much I loved looking at rainbows when they appeared, like an explosion of candy pops in the sky. Red orange yellow green blue indigo and violet. How could such beauty exist in a world so tainted? In a world with so much pain and hurt?

I was convinced then that love, too, could exist in a broken heart like mine. So I chased it. Relentlessly. But rainbows, I found out, were simply illusions of something beautiful that cannot be attained. And so it was with love. It was only something to look at and admire from afar.

Then I met you, and you showed me that love can mend a broken heart. You became the rainbow in my life I no longer needed to chase.
2 thoughts on “Chasing Rainbows

Leave a Reply

