Displaced

The sun sets on the boulevard
casting shadows behind-
people are walking by
cars are speeding past
and time
stands like a silent tree
amidst the maddening chaos
I sit quietly
fading in and out of existence
like the sunlight
flickering through the leaves
of the weeping willow
How long gone have I been
to no longer recognise
this place
How strange to feel so alone
in my own home
I am a displaced nomad
a man out of time
lost in a city of blinding lights
I am convinced even the stars
care not for my sadness
and equally little
for my madness.

2 thoughts on “Displaced

Leave a Reply

