Musings On A Kelong

Some places seem to stay in your life as if following you, reminding you of something.

This place is one of them. The first time I set foot on these wooden floor boards I was 17. Now, nine years later, the kelong [1] does not look the same as it used to. (It’s expanded, upgraded with double decker beds, and even hot showers). And neither am I the same person as I was.

Many things have changed. Gone are the carefree days of our youth, of recklessly plunging into the open sea without a second of hesitation, of wrapping ourselves in sleeping bags under a pitch-black sky full of stars, waiting quietly in the darkness for a shooting star to say hello.

Adulthood has crept up on us, and with it, the responsibilities the world demands.

These are things I have lost. But I am happy to have had them, even if only for a while.

In a world where everything changes by the second, there is one thing I do know however. And that is the God I knew then and the God I know now hasn’t. He is the same yesterday, today and forever.

“You give and take away
You give and take away
My heart will choose to say
Lord blessed be your name.”

—–
[1] Kelong is a Malay word describing a form of offshore platform built predominantly with wood, which can be found in waters off Malaysia, the Philippines and Indonesia.

Leave a Reply

