These Days It’s Hard To Remember

I am writing this so that I don’t forget,
because I don’t ever want to forget.
I don’t want to forget the sound of your
voice. Not the way your squinted eyes
look at me in mischief. The sound of
your laughter, and mine, reverberating off
each other, not knowing what or why
we are laughing, but knowing that we are
sharing this moment between us, father
and daughter, and that is enough.

P.S. Writing about my dad, who is suffering from an advanced progressive illness, may not be the easiest thing to do, but there is no other way I can do it.

 
Image Source: http://clickitupanotch.com

3 thoughts on “These Days It’s Hard To Remember

Leave a Reply

